SBCA Workshop Series Online

Tue, Jun 27 2017 1:00pm to 2:15pm (CDT)

Understanding the Impact and Issues of the Increasing Number of I-9 Audits Being Conducted of Component Manufacturers

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) has significantly increased its auditing of truss manufacturing companies. SBCA is aware of four member manufacturers that have been audited in the last year. While the audit starts with a verification of an employer’s Form I-9 compliance, the HSI follow-up after the review of the I-9 forms results in the issuance of notices, including notices of suspect documents, where HSI advises that an individual or multiple individuals are unauthorized to work.

Kent Pagel (SBCA Legal Counsel) will speak regarding recent issues related to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Immigration and Customs Enforcement (“ICE”) auditing of truss manufacturing companies as a pretext to uncover undocumented workers. This seminar will include:

  • A discussion about these relatively new HSI enforcement measures
  • Tips for how to prepare for a potential I-9 audit
  • A description of the audit process itself as well as the HSI follow-up after the audit
  • Other guidance relating to the Form I-9

Contact SBCA staff to register today!

Workshop Schedule: This 1¼ hour workshop will be held on Tuesday, June 27 at 11 am PDT/12pm MDT/1pm CDT/2pm EDT. Truss Technician Training (TTT) recertification credit, continuing education credit (CEU) and professional development hours (PDH) are available.

Workshop Cost: Individuals from component manufacturing companies that attended BCMC 2016 in Knoxville, TN can attend this session for FREE. SBCA component manufacturer members receive a discount and pay by location, so multiple employees can participate at one cost. The member cost is $30 per location; the nonmember cost is $60 per person.

Missed a Workshop? Recordings of this workshop will be available online shortly after the presentation. The member cost is $30 per person; the nonmember cost is $60 per person. Browse past topics here.

Thank you to our SBC Advertisers for Sponsoring the Workshops! 
This workshop is sponsored by Eagle Metal Products.